Candle Lights

Candle Lights

by Allie Marie

 

The sky is

folded into murky gray.

Your blue eyes

turn into candle lights.

And,  I blindfolded

search for you.

 

I know you –

childhood best friend.

With our innocent hands

held tight,

we crossed those

neighborhood streets.

 

The stranger is

branded the only fool.

Your husky voice

whispers into song.

And, I changed

search for you.

 

I know you –

the one denied.

With these broken hands

of mine,

I let you go those

streets alone.

 

And,  your blue eyes

are candlelights.

 

Leave a Reply

