Twist of Time

Twist of Time
By Allie Marie

Every other word another lie.
Every second another twist of time.
Defenses scar the most delicate skin.
We are preached beauty comes within.
Pictures tell another story
of bright lights, fame, and glory.

You claim you hold me apart
as I become just another work of art.
You hold me to the highest ground,
so I can’t dare to make a sound
other than the words that you preach
every damn little speech.

I’ll reach out the palms of my hands
in hope one day you’ll understand.

Leave a Reply

