Here and Gone

Here and Gone

By Allie Marie

Here you stand.

It has been almost a year.

The trees have lost their leaves

only to bloom.

From the lies we planted,

the truth grew.

Somehow you expect the same –

a simple cat and mouse type game.

You thought you knew who I was.

At the time, I was easy prey.

You let me go

and I, too, learned how to play.

But, I don’t want to.

I’ve found a different course.

You don’t know this.

I don’t have to say it.

My only obligation is to be cordial.

I’ll take everything else

and keep it.

One thought on “Here and Gone”

Leave a Reply

